Quiz Liverpool

Home of the Liverpool Quiz League

Pairs Competition & Presentation Night 2016

There was a good turnout at APH for the Pairs competition and Presentation Evening on Monday 23rd May.

After a written qualifying competition, six randomly drawn pairs of players went forward into the semi-final stage.  This was played n 15 to 1 style, with each pair having three lives and being asked questions in turn until only the final three pairs remained.  These three pairs had their lives reset, and the final was played under the same rules.  You can watch the knockout stages of the competition here.


Trophies were presented to the teams present who were runners-up/winners in the various competitions.  Pictures can be seen on the Gallery page.

Competition Winners Runners Up
Division 3 Residents Wandering Star
Division 2 Top Shelf Palmy Army
Division 1 Rainhill Victoria Exiles
Handicap League Palmy Army  
Riley Cup CTK Wanderers Oxton Cons
Individuals (Mimir) Mark Kerr
Pairs Rod Moore & Dave Wright


Make Me An Egghead

Do you have what it takes?

12 Yard productions are looking to recruit two new Eggheads to join the team, taking the total up to nine (CJ has left again). They are looking for one male and one female quizzer, to be chosen from a knockout competition to be filmed in July.

If you fancy applying, you can contact the production company at the details shown below, or you can download an application form from here:

The Big Liverpool Pub Quiz

19 teams took part in the Big Liverpool Pub Quiz at St Michael's Irish Centre on Sunday 15th April 2016.  In an exciting competition written and presented by Dave Bill of Redtooth Quizzes, a tiebreak was needed to separate the top two teams. A team form the Liverpool Echo finally triumphed to take the £80 top prize and the coveted BLPQ trophy.

Winning Team - Liverpool Echo

The winning team can be seen here with James McGregor, Liverpool Quiz League vice-Chairman, who organised the whole evening. 

TV Quizzers Jenny Ryan, Dave Rainford and Pat Gibson, as well as several members of the Liverpool Quiz League, helped out different teams in each round.

We would like to say thank you to all involved for what turned out to be a great night.  Further pictures can be found on the Gallery page on the menu.


Presentation Evening & Pairs Competition

Liverpool Quiz League Presentation Evening


Annual Pairs Competition


Monday 23rd May 2016

8pm Aigburth People’s Hall, Aigburth Vale, Liverpool, L17 0DJ



Our evening will begin with the draw for the Pairs Competition.


The questions are set this year by last year’s winners; Peter Dixon and Mark Kerr.


The first part of the Pairs competition is 40 questions, each pair writes that answers on their answer sheet, that is then marked with the top six pairs going through to a 15 to 1 style knock out and then the top three carry on until the winners remain.


We will then have refreshments followed by




Liverpool Mimir Competition   

Arthur Evans Shield         Mark Kerr of Rainhill Victoria


Division 3

Runners Up                         FD Hill Trophy                                    Wandering Star

Winners                               Bill Palmer Cup                                  Residents


Division 2

Runners Up                        Old Wallaseyans Trophy                Palmy Army

Winners                               George Taylor Cup                          Top Shelf


Division 1

Runners Up                        William Ross Cup                              Earles

Winners                               Bert Dutton Cup                               Rainhill Victoria


Pairs Competition

Runners Up



Ted Riley Cup

Runners Up                        Oxton Conservatives, Wirral Quiz League

Winners                              CTK Wanderers, Liverpool Quiz League


We hope that as many Liverpool teams and Wirral Teams who took part in the Riley Cup, or members of your team will join us to celebrate our 2016 season.


MCC Final 2016

The final of the Merseyside Challenge Cup took place at the Sands Hotel, Ainsdale on Wednesday 11th May 2016.  The finalist were Unison of Ormskirk and Rainhill Victoria of Liverpool.

You can watch the whole match below:


MIMIR Final 2016

The final of the 2016 MIMIR individual competition took place at the Sands Hotel, Ainsdale on 11th May 2016.  The contestants were Rod Moore of Liverpool, Karl Whelan of Wirral, Dag Griffiths of Southport & Formby and Neil MacAskill of Warrington.

The match proved to be probably the closest fought one ever, and the whole event can be watched below:


MCC Plate Final 2016

The final of the MCC Plate took place at the Sands Hotel, Ainsdale on Wednesday 11th May 2016.  The match was between WSC Woodworms of the Warrington League and Exiles of the Liverpool League.

You can watch the whole match below.  (Apologies to the players whose faces are not visible - the layout of the room made it impossible to fit everybody in.


Riley Cup 2016

After some very close quarter and semi-final matches, the final of 2016's Ted Riley cup was played between Oxton Cons of Wirral Division 1 and CTK Wanderers of Liverpool Division 2.  Oxton Cons carried a handicap of 4 points, while CTK were slightly better off with a handicap of 18.  You can watch the whole of the match below, or scroll down a bit to see the result.

By the end of round 6 the scores were very close and it looked like Oxton were on course to overhaul the deficit, but CTK won the final two rounds to take the trophy, winning 46-36.

Riley Cup Round 3 Results

  Home HC F   A HC Away
26 Oxton Conservatives 4 46 v 33 11 Aigburth Swans
27 Top Shelf 16 59 v 55 19 Bookworms
28 Aigburth CC 26 54 v 57 19 Nelson's Fifth Column
29 Exiles 16 55 v 46 0 Rainhill Victoria
30 CTK Cavaliers 17 55 v 51 15 Wallaseyans
31 Gladly Stoned 4 62 v 55 21 Mersey Bowmen
32 Tramway 18 59 v 52 11 Bishop Eton
33 CTK Wanderers 18 59 v 49 18 St Patrick's

The finals will be held at Aigburth People's Hall, Liverpool on Monday 9th May 2016, starting at 8.00pm.

Further details and directions are here:

Riley Cup Round 3

Match Home Team HC   HC Away Team
26 Oxton Conservatives 4 v 11 Aigburth Swans
27 Top Shelf 16 v 19 Bookworms
28 Aigburth CC 26 v 19 Nelson's Fifth Column
29 Exiles 16 v 0 Rainhill Victoria
30 CTK Cavaliers 17 v 15 Wallaseyans
31 Gladly Stoned 4 v 21 Mersey Bowmen
32 Tramway 18 v 11 Bishop Eton
33 CTK Wanderers 18 v 18 St Patrick's
Page 9 of 13 << < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 > >>